Home Page
The 2019-2020 academic year will start on Friday 6th September. We are officially a GOOD Church School - SIAMS Inspection 2019 (See latest news section). If you require translation or any additional access needs for our website, please contact the school office and we will try our best to accommodate your needs.


Welcome to our Governors’ section.

Please find below details of how our Governing body is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Governor.


Newtown has a dedicated team of Governors who are either elected as Parent Governors, Community Governors, Local Authority Governors or staff Governors. They remain on the Governing Body for a period of four years and may be re-elected if no other candidates come forward. The Chair and Vice-Chair are elected annually. Vacancies for Governors are communicated through the School to the Parent Body and Hampshire County Council (HCC) Governor Services Team. All Governors are members of the Full Governing Body (FGB) and have full voting rights. They meet collectively once per month. Each Governor has a clear role in supporting and holding the school to account. These areas are reviewed annually. Each Governor reviews aspects of school improvement each term to monitor progress towards identified goals. This ensures that Newtown’s Governors ‘know their school’ and are able to challenge the school to achieve the very best outcomes for children.


They have no pecuniary interests to declare, but these are reviewed on a monthly basis.

Our Board of Governors


Name Role Committees

Mrs Janet Cane

Mrs Glynis Wright

Co-Chairs of the Governing Body

Chair of the Full Governing Body

Headteacher's Performance Review Committee

Mrs Emma Howlett Headteacher

Pay Review Committee

Teaching, Learning and Standards Committee

Resources and Health & Safety Committee

Ms Maureen Hughes Foundation Resources Committee
Mr Chris Jickells Co-opted Resources Committee
Miss Vicki Metcalf Staff Teaching, Learning and Standards Committee
Mrs Shelley Power Parent Governor Resources Committee
Mrs Terry Smith Co-opted

Teaching, Learning and Standards Committee

Currently recruiting Clerk to Governing Body  
Mrs Sharon Shepperd Parent Governor Teaching, Learning and Standards Committee
Ms Mary Ball Foundation Governor

Teaching, Learning and Standards Committee

Mrs Glynis Wright Foundation Governor Teaching, Learning and Standards Committee
Mrs Julie Westerby Local Authority Governor

Resources Committee

Mr Colin Harris Associate Member Resources Committee